ISLAMABAD - Election Commission of Pakistan (EC) yesterday issued polling scheme for third phase of local bodies elections in Punjab.

According to notification, the polling will be held on December 5 in 12 districts of Punjab including Layyah, Rajanpur, DG Khan, Muzaffargarh, Jhang, Khushab, Rawalpindi, Sialkot, Narowal, RY Khan, Bhawalpur and Multan.

Some 1470 polling stations would be formed in all 12 districts while 40,000 polling booths would be established in this regard. Moreover, 17000000 people will exercise voting right during the polls.

ECP also banned the celebrations of election victory. While addressing the meeting,

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sardar Raza said that the first phase was completed successfully and hoped that the electoral process in the second and third phases will be concluded in an effective manner.

He stated that Election Commission is committed to conduct transparent and impartial elections whereas all the candidates will be provided equal opportunities in the polls.