Lahore - Pacer Junaid Khan will lead Pakistan A squad for the five-match Twenty20 series against England Lions scheduled to be played at Dubai in December.

The series will be played on December 7, 10, 11, 13 and 16 in the ICC Cricket Academy ground, says a press release issued here. PCB chairman Shaharyar M Khan has approved the Pakistan ‘A’ squad for the five-match T20 series against England Lions at the recommendation of the selection committee headed by Haroon Rashid.

The 16-member squad includes Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Shahzeb Hasan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood (vc), M Nawaz, Bilal Asif, Babar Azam, Saifulah Bangash (wk), Kashif Bhatti, Amir Yamin, Saad Nasim, Junaid Khan (capt), Mir Hamza, Ziaul Haq and Ruman Raees while the team management comprises Zakir Khan (manager), Tauseef Ahmed (coach), Mansoor Rana (assistant coach), Yasir Malik (trainer), Arif Shah (physiotherapist) and M Talah (analyst).

Chief selector Haroon Rashid said the team had been selected keeping in mind the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20 Cup, to be held in March 2016 in India. “All the players are fully capable of acquitting themselves well in this format and have been performing well for quite some time.” He said since this would be the last opportunity before the Twenty20 World Cup to have a look at the potential of these players to prove their mettle for the selection in the national T20 squad for the upcoming tours and World Cup. “The selection committee would be having a close look at the performance of each of the players during the five-match series against England Lions in the UAE,” he said.