ISLAMABAD - Chief Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali yesterday decided to club the petitions over resignations of PTI and MQM parliamentarians. PML-N leader Zafar Ali Shah appearing before a three-member bench, headed by the chief justice, prayed to club his petitions. The court accepting his plea issued notices to the speaker, the senate chairman and the MQM parliamentarians.

The MQM MPs on 12th tendered resignations from National Assembly, Senate and Sindh Assembly. Speaker National Assembly Ayaz Sadiq the same day called the MNAs of MQM in his chamber and inquired about the resignations. Zafar Ali Shah filed the petition under Article 184(3) of Constitution, praying the court to order the federal government, prime minister, leader of opposition and sindh provincial government not to create hurdles in the resignations of MQM MPs. He has also filed an application for accepting the resignations of PTI lawmakers.

The PTI MNAs during the 125-day long sit-in last year, protesting alleged rigging in the 2013 elections, had resigned. However, National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq did not accept the resignations.

The PML-N leader in his petition mentioned that the MQM members had tendered resignations with their own signatures, handed over to the Speaker in his chamber personally, while the Speaker signed on them with the words ‘For further process’.

In Senate and Sindh the MQM members submitted resignations in the Senate and Provincial Assembly Secretariats. The Sindh government said, they would decide about the MQM MPs’ fate following the decision of the federal government.

Zafar requested the apex court to direct the Speaker National Assembly and Chairman Senate to issue gazette notifications of the MQM MPs resignations and communicate to the Election Commission of Pakistan to hold by-elections on the vacated seats. He asked the apex court to order the ECP to issue schedule for the by-elections according to the Article 224 of the Constitution. The case was adjourned for an indefinite period.