The PTI has finally fielded Muhammad Ajmal Cheema, PML-Q backed former provincial minister, in NA-111 constituency against the PPP’s Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan, former federal minister, and PML-N’s Ch Armughan Subhani, former provincial minister.

The induction has given a new twist to the local political scenario in this constituency. Local exporter-turned-politician Muhammad Ajmal Cheema was elected as MPA from constituency PP 121 on PML-N ticket in 2002 general elections. But, in 2008 general elections, Cheema was knocked out by PML-N’s Rana Tariq Mehmood Harnah and Ajmal Cheema was also defeated by PML-N’s Rana Muhammad Iqbal Harnah in by polls held here after road accidental demise of Rana Tariq Mehmood MPA.

The provincial leadership of PTI refused to give party ticket to Chaudhry Ameer Hussain, the PML-Q backed former speaker of National Assembly, and his son Muhammad Asif Ameer for this constituency and brought Ajmal Cheema. However, the PTI awarded ticket to Muhammad Asif Ameer in provincial assembly constituency PP 121 against PML-N’s Rana Muhammad Iqbal Harnah and PPP’s Mian Abid Javaid.

Ameer Hussain joined the PTI by flying from the camps of the PML-Q on March 23, 2012. He and his son Muhammad Asif Ameer had applied for the PTI ticket. The PTI provincial leadership has not awarded ticket to them in this constituency. However, the PTI provincial leadership has accommodated Muhammad Asif Ameer.

As per political observers, Ameer Hussain was contesting this coming general election as a matter of his political survival. While, Variyo family’s scion Ch. Armughan Subhani is also contesting for the political survival of his family. The former speaker of National Assembly is introducing his son Muhammad Asif Ameer here into the local political scenario.

There is Gujjar family in majority in NA-111. This family seems to be divided into three major groups. One group is supporting PML-N candidate Ch. Armughan Subhani in NA-111 while second group is supporting PTI candidate Muhammad Asif Ameer in PP-121. Third group is fully supporting PPP’s Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan.

PTI NOMINATES CANDIDATES: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has finally nominated its candidates for national and provincial assembly seats in the Tehsil.

Abid Javed Virk is nominated for NA-100 Chaudhry Abid Sohail Virk for PP-101 and Chaudhry Muhammad Nawaz Malhi has been nominated to contest elections from PP-102. Earlier, Hakeem Saifullah Saikho was declared candidate for PP-102. But the party ticket has been awarded to former Town Naib Nazim Muhammad Nawaz Malhi on the recommendation of NA-100 candidate Chaudhry Abid Javed Virk.  After the announcement of the tickets, the PTI has started electoral campaign in the tehsil. In the PTI panel, only Muhammad Nawaz Malhi is old politician while remaining two candidates Abid Javed Virk for NA-100 and Abid sohail Virk for PP-101 are young and new faces in politics.