ST KITTS - The experienced T20 hands of Dwayne Smith , Shoaib Malik and Jason Holder combined to give Barbados Tridents the 2014 Caribbean Premier League title after emerging victorious at St Kitts in a rain-affected final against Guyana Amazon Warriors. Chasing a revised target of 116 in 15.5 overs, the Warriors fell eight runs short as no batsman passed 30 and finished runners-up again after their disappointment last year.
After losing Martin Guptill early for 7, Lendl Simmons (20, 26b, 1x4, 1x6) and Mohammed Hafeez (28, 27b, 1x4, 2x6) put on 37 for the second wicket but struggled to step up the scoring rate. Holder's inspired spell - that included the wickets of Hafeez and Jimmy Neesham - kept the Warriors in check and even the presence of captain Denesh Ramdin (14, 10b, 1x6) couldn't inspire them to victory.
The Tridents were helped by half-centuries from Smith (59, 52b, 6x4, 3x6) and Malik (55*, 42b, 4x4, 2x6) to post 152 for 6 in their 20 overs after being put into bat, and despite a double-wicket blow from Krishmar Santokie that had reduced them to 8 for 2 inside three overs. Smith and Malik combined to add 88 that came in just 10 overs, with the duo smartly playing out Santokie and Sunil Narine, and attacking the inexperienced bowlers.
Another double-blow threatened to derail the Tridents innings as Narine dismissed Smith and captain Kieron Pollard off successive balls, but Malik kept the innings together and a late surge from Jeevan Mendis (15*, 13b, 1x4, 1x6) lifted them to a competitive total, which eventually proved to be enough after the rain delay.
BRIEF SCORES: Barbados Tridents 152/6 in 20 overs (Smith 59, Malik 59*; Santokie 3/19, Narine 2/20) beat Guyana Amazon Warriors 107/4 in 15.5 overs (Hafeez 28; Jason Holder 2/18) by 8 runs (D/L method).