Imran Khan took the oath as Pakistan's 22nd prime minister on Saturday.

A day earlier, Imran defeated Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif in the PM election in the National Assembly. 

The ceremony began with national anthem and was followed by a recitation of the Holy Quran after which, President Mamnoon administered the oath to Imran. 

Army Chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Zubair Mahmood Hayat and Chief of Air Staff Marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan were among those who attended the ceremony at the President House.

Imran Khan's wife Bushra Bibi, former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, Wasim Akram, actor Javed Sheikh, Punjab governor designate Chaudhry Sarwar, Punjab Assembly speaker Pervez Elahi, Ramiz Raja, caretaker prime minister Nasir-ul-Mulk and PTI leaders were also in attendance.

Earlier, on Friday, the National Assembly had elected Khan as the prime minister of Pakistan, more than two decades after the former captain of the Pakistan cricket team entered politics.