PESHAWAR - Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Mahmood Khan took oath as 22nd Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province on Friday. KP Governor Iqbal Zafar Jhagra administered him the oath during a ceremony held at the Governor House, Peshawar.

Besides others, MPA-elect, government officials and PTI workers and office-bearers also attended the event. Soon after taking oath as chief executive of the province, the PTI workers chanted slogans in favour of the party.

Mahmood Khan, a candidate of PTI had earlier bagged 77 votes against his rival nominee of the joint opposition parties Mian Nisar Gul, who secured 33 votes in the elections for the chief minister office.

He was elected member of the provincial assembly from PK-9 Swat in July 2018 general elections. On August 8, 2018, Mahmood Khan was nominated for the slot of KP CM by PTI Chief Imran Khan keeping in view his past performance as Minister for Sports, Tourism and Irrigation during the cabinet of Pervez Khattak.

Mahmood Khan was born at Matta area of Swat district in 1972 in a political family and earned respect for social services. He obtained his early education from the Government Primary School Matta and did his matriculation from the Peshawar Public School and College. 

He completed MSc Agriculture (Hons) from the University of Agriculture, Peshawar. Considered a strong loyalist of PTI Chief Imran Khan, Mahmood Khan entered into practical politics after his election as Nazim Union Council Khariri of Tehsil Matta on several occasions from 2005-2012.  After quitting PPP, Mahmood Khan joined the Imran Khan’s PTI in 2012 and became President of the party Malakand Division chapter. Later, Mahmood Khan contested 2013 election from his hometown Matta and elected MPA from then PK-84 Swat-V on the ticket of PTI. He was assigned the challenging portfolio of Sports, Tourism, Museums, Archaeology, Culture and Youth Affairs in the PTI last government in KP.

He retained the MPA seat from PK-9 Swat in July 25, 2018 election and made headlines when he was nominated by PTI Chief Imran Khan for coveted slot of Chief Minister KP.