MIRPUR (AJK) - The AJ&K Cabinet Development Committee (CDC) approved eight development schemes worth Rs4,150 million, it was officially declared.

A spokesman for the AJK government told reporters late the other day that the CDC approved the schemes in a meeting that was presided over by AJK Premier Chaudhry Abdul Majeed.

For construction of buildings and provision of furniture and equipment in nine inter colleges of Kotli and three of Bhimber districts an amount of Rs543.644 million and Rs143.458 million respectively has been allocated. In health sector, Rs239.309 million for establishment of Motharma Banazir Bhutto Shaheed Medical College Mirpur and Rs399.771 million for establishment of Muzaffarabad Medical College has been approved.

The Cabinet Development Committee also allocated Rs2361.350 million for construction of Sharda Surgan Noori Nar Road, 31.5-Km length of district Neelum and Rs129.063 million for improvement and widening of approach road from Mangla Mirpur Road (Match factory) to Banzir Bhutto Shaheed medical college Mirpur.

To strengthen the civil defence organization and establishment of emergency services (Rescue 1122) in Azad Kashmir (Mirpur, Kotli, Bhimber, Sudhnoti) and construction of offices at Mirpur and Kotli an amount of Rs104.547 million has been approved. Rs149.998 million has been allocated for acquisition of land and construction of Skindar Hayat Sports Stadium in Kotli.

AJK PM Ch Abdul Majeed while addressing the Cabinet Development Committee meeting, stated that a minister be included in a development committee at divisional level for effective monitoring and evaluation of the developmental schemes, adding that no compromise will be made on the quality of standards in development projects. He reiterated that the government was committed to provide all basic necessities to the people at their threshold.

Senior Minister Chaudhry Yasin, Finance Minister Chaudhry Latif Akbar, Education Minister Matloob Inqlabi, Minister for Health Qamar Zaman, Minister for Forest Sardar Javed Ayub, AJK Chief Secretary, Additional Chief Secretary Development and secretaries of all departments attended the meeting.