SHARJAH - Sri Lanka Women beat Pakistan by five wickets in the decisive third Twenty20 International in Sharjah to claim a 2-1 series win. They were set a modest victory target of 111 after Pakistan reached 110 for nine and they got there with more than two overs to spare.

Bismah Maroof top scored for Pakistan with 46 before Chamari Atapattu Jayangani led the way for Sri Lanka with 44. The pattern of the game was set early on as Sri Lanka reduced Pakistan to 11 for three as an incisive spell from Udeshika Prabodhani removed Javeria Khan (1) and Qanita Jalil (2) and she also ran out Marina Iqbal (6). Maroof's 46 in 38 balls, Sana Mir's 20 in 34 and Nida Dar's 15 in 16 helped them pass the 100-run mark but they were the only three players to reach double figures. Prabodhani returned two for 12, Inoka Ranaweera two for 16 and Chathurani Gunawardene two for 25.

Sri Lanka then lost one early wicket but unlike Pakistan they didn't lose a cluster of them when Lasanthi Madushani was caught by Amavia Iqbal off Mir for nought. Atapattu and Dilani Manodara added 44 together for the second wicket with Manodara making 18.

Eshani Kaushalya then scored 23 and although all three fell, as did Chamari Polgampola (5), they made it home with 13 balls to spare.

Gunawardene (5 not out) and Sripali Weerakkody (6 not out) completed the victory as Sri Lanka salvaged something from a tour that began with three defeats out of three in the One-Day Internationals.



Marina Iqbal run out    6

Javeria Khan b Prabodhani    1

Qanita Jalil c Jayangani b Prabodhani    2

Bismah Maroof b Ranaweera    46

Sana Mir c Kumarihami b Ranaweera    20

Nida Dar c Jayangani b Gunawardene    15

Asmavia Iqbal c Kaushalya b Gunawardene    3

Nahida Khan run out    1

Iram Javed not out    4

Sania Khan run out    5

EXTRAS: (lb4, w3)    7

TOTAL: (9 wkts; 20 overs)    110

FOW: 1-3, 2-9, 3-11, 4-57, 5-87, 6-96, 7-98, 8-98, 9-110  

BOWLING: K Prabodhani 4-0-12-2, H Samuddika 3-0-23-0, I Ranaweera 4-0-16-2, B Kumari 4-0-26-0, M Gunawardene 4-0-25-2, L Kaushalya 1-0-4-0


H Madushani c Asmavia Iqbal b Sana    0

AC Jayangani b Nida    44

M Surangika c Qanita b Nida    18

L Kaushalya c Nida b Bismah    23

P Kumarihami c Iram b Sadia    5

M Gunawardene not out    5

S Weerakkody not out    6

EXTRAS: (lb2, w9)    11

TOTAL: (5 wkts; 17.5 overs)    112

FOW: 1-0, 2-45, 3-88, 4-93, 5-98

BOWLING: Sana Mir 4-0-20-1, Nida Dar 4-0-20-2, Sadia Yousuf 3-0-20-1, Sania Khan 1-0-7-0, Asmavia Iqbal 1.5-0-22-0, Bismah Maroof 4-0-21-1

TOSS: Pakistan Women


Umpires - Farooq Ali Khan (Pakistan) and Rashid Riaz (Pakistan)

Match referee - GF Labrooy (Sri Lanka)