KARACHI - The rival parties of the MQM have formed an alliance to win the chairman slot in District South and West, The Nation learnt on Sunday.

The MQM, that is enjoying majority to form its government in Karachi Municipality and three districts, will get a tough contest as other political parties have formed an alliance to win top slots in two districts of Karachi. According to details, six political parties in District West had joined hands against the MQM for the slot of district chairman and vice chairman. The six-party alliance included Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Pakistan People’s Party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Awami National Party, JUI-F and Jamaat-e-Islami. They all are supporting PML-N candidate Asif Khan for district chairman and PTI’s Dawa’s Sabir for vice chairman slot.

This alliance claims to have support of 24 candidates as compared to support of 22 candidates of the MQM. However, MQM candidate for the district chairman Gul Faraz Khan Khattak said that other than 22 party candidates, they also had the support of two independent candidates and would win the slot.

It is pertinent to mention here that these two independent candidates had announced to join the ANP and PPP; however, their decision for the chairman slot had a decisive role in the election.

Moreover in District South, the MQM and PPP had claimed to won 12 union councils out of 31 union committees and needed only four more votes for simple majority to bring its District Chairman.

The PML-N would play a key role in DMC politics with its four seats. So far, the MQM had signed a written agreement with the PML-N according to which, the Muttahida will give the slot of vice chairperson to the PML-N candidate after supporting each other in DMC polls. However, the PML-N Sindh internal party sources has said that the agreement with MQM had caused internal rifts within the party as many of the elected representatives and leaders had refused to follow the agreement.

Meanwhile, MQM leader Ameenul Haq told The Nation the party had finalised the name of Izhar Ahmed Khan former Town Nazim of SITE Town for the slot of District South Chairman and made an agreement with the PML-N District South Chapter according to which, the chairman of the district would be from the MQM and the vice-chairman from the PML-N.

On the other hand, the PPP has announced Malik Fayyaz for the slot of DMC South chairperson and also claimed to have the majority of the 15 members in DMC polls.