ISLAMABAD - The constitutional tiff on the composition of Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms was finally resolved here on Thursday with allocation of one-third representation to the Upper House in the body.

The meeting in this connection was held here at the Parliament House jointly chaired by Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq and Chairman Senate Syed Nayyar Hussain Bokhari. "It was decided in the meeting that the total strength of the committee would be 33 out of which 11 members (one-third) of the total strength would be taken from Senate while the rest of 22 members would be taken from the National Assembly," informed Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq after the meeting.

He further informed that all the parties would be asked to resubmit their nominations as per their quota in the committee.

In the meeting, which was also attended by Leader of Opposition in the National Assembly Syed Kursheed Shah and Leader of House in the Senate Raja Zafarul Haq, it was decided that the names for the committee would be given afresh and in this connection Leader of Opposition in National Assembly would consult the heads of other opposition parties while from government side State Minister Sheikh Aftab and Leader of House in Senate Raja Zafarul Haq would give fresh nominations.

Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq said that the process of fresh nominations of the members would be made in next couple of days and the committee would be in place by next week.

It is pertinent to mention here that previously Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq had announced the Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms after having consultation with the parliamentary heads of the parties. But later Chairman Senate Syed Nayyar Hussain Bokhari raised objections on the composition of the committee, saying there was no mention of the share of the Upper House in it.

Later, due to busy schedule of both speaker and chairman Senate both could not meet for well over a month and the matter was put in limbo, which the government wanted to initiate on urgent basis because of mounting pressure from Pakistan Tehreek-I-Insaf for electoral reforms.

It was under this pressure that the speaker National Assembly had given representation of three members to PTI against their actual share of two.

Sources in the government said that more or less the same names from PML-N would be forwarded to the committee while by and large the other parties would also repeat the names already forwarded to Speaker National Assembly to be their members in the Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms.

Previously the ruling PML-N had given the names of Ishaq Dar, Zahid Hamid, Anosha Rehman, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, Muhammad Bashir Ahmad Virk and Senator Raja Zafar ul Haq for the committee.

Syed Naveed Qamar, Shazia Murree, Aitzaz Ahsan and Mian Raza Rabbani was to be represented by PPP while PTI had sent the names of Shafqat Mehmood, Dr Shireen Mazari and Dr Arif Alvi to be the members of the committee. PML-Q had given the name of Tariq Bashir Cheema.

Dr Farooq Sattar, SA Iqbal Qadri and Col (Retd) Tahir Mashhadi from MQM, independent MNA Ghazi Gulab Jamal, BNP (Awami) Israr Ullah Zehri, Haji Adeel Ahmad of Awami National Party, Naeema Kishwar and senator Talha Mehmood from JUI-F, Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao from QWP, Ejaz ul Haq from PML-Z , Sheikh Rashid Ahmad from Awami Muslim League and Sahib Zada Tariq Ullah from JI.