The Supreme Court on Thursday directed Interior Minister Rehman

Malik to submit within three weeks a list of all lawmakers who still hold dual nationality.

A three-judge bench of the apex court, comprising Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry,

Justice Jawwad S. Khawaja and Justice Khilji Arif Hussain, was hearing the case against members

of parliament and provincial assemblies holding dual nationality.

The court had ordered the interior minister to submit by Thursday a list of legislators who still held

dual nationality following its short order in the case on Sept 20.

Appearing before the bench today, Malik said he was doing so because he respected the court. He

said if the court wanted him to name dual national members of parliament and Senate, it should

wait until all lawmakers submitted fresh declarations.

Referring to the Oct 9 directions by the ECP, Malik said that by the time lawmakers submit their

declarations, it would be clear which of them possessed dual nationalities. Malik added that a bad

precedent would be set, in his position as a minister, if he took somebody’s name.

While Malik refused to name dual national legislators in court today, Justice Khawaja said the

media had named several lawmakers who were said to be holding dual nationality, including Nadir

Magsi, Dr Asim Hussain, Senator Babar Ghauri, Dr Ishratul Ibad, Rauf Siddiqui, Sassui Palejo and

Waseem Akhtar. Justice Khawaja ordered Malik to investigate the matter.

Accepting the interior minister’s request to be exempted from appearing before the court in the

next hearing, the court directed him to submit through the Interior Secretary a list of names within

three weeks of dual national lawmakers.

The hearing was subsequently adjourned.