ISLAMABAD - The Judicial Commission of Pakistan yesterday refused to extend tenure of four additional judges of Lahore High Court.

The Judicial Commission meeting, held with Chief Justice of Pakistan Anwar Zaheer Jamali in chair, discussed the confirmation of 11 additional judges of the Lahore High Court.

The sources said the commission has unanimously agreed not to recommend extension of Justice Hafiz Shahid Nadeem Kahloon, Justice Mushtaq Ahmad Tarar, Justice Aslam Javed Minhas and Justice Farrukh Gulzar Awan.

The JCP, however, proposed to grant one-year extension to seven judges namely Justice Shahid Mubeen, Justice Sardar Ahmad Naeem, Justice Erum Sajad Gull, Justice Raja Shahid Mehmood Abbasi, Justice Shehram Sarwar Ch, Justice Muhammad Sajid Mehmood Sethi and Justice Sardar Muhammad Sarfraz Dogar.

The tenure of these judges is expiring on June 8. Presently, 53 judges are working in the Lahore High Court while the total strength is 60. However, after the JCP’s decision not to extend the job of four judges, the high court’s remaining strength would be 49.

A member of the commission also revealed that the CJP had also agreed to summon special meeting of the Judicial Commission in the second week of May to consider the Pakistan Bar Council’s proposals, seeking amendments in JCP’s rules 2010.