Following the success of Pakistan Super League (PSL), the Pakistan Cup will stroll into action today Tuesday at the Iqbal Stadium Faisalabad.

Just like Pakistan Super League, there will be also five teams representing the four provinces and federal capital of the country. The five teams from the five provinces - Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and a team from Federal Capital of Pakistan. Earlier, the PCB announced that Azhar Ali would lead Balochistan, Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq Federal Capital, Younus Khan Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Shoaib Malik Punjab and Sarfraz Ahmed Sindh team. The ‘Pakistan Cup 2016’ is a new style of domestic cricket in Pakistan. Reportedly, PCB Executive Committee chairman Najam Sethi pointed out that the tournament would help revive fan engagement in domestic cricket. Each team will be able to select a squad of 16. The tournament would be played from April 19 till May 1 at Faisalabad.

RADIO PAKISTAN TO BROADCAST RUNNING COMMENTARY: Pakistan's supreme broadcasting institute Radio Pakistan has made comprehensive arrangements to broadcast ball-to-ball running commentary during the 13-day Pakistan Cup (Pentangular Cup) that rolls into action today (Tuesday) at Iqbal Stadium Faisalabad.

"FM-101 Faisalabad will be originating station and broadcast will be put on-air on all FM-101 stations through FM-101 Islamabad," a spokesman of Pakistan Broadcasting Corporation (PBC) said on Monday.

He said that PBC Faisalabad would originate all matches 10 minutes before the match (2:50pm) till the end of the game. Radio Pakistan Director General Saba Mohsin has emphasized on crystal clear and uninterrupted broadcast.

She has also directed PBC Controller FM-101 Waheed Sheikh to oversee this all important cricket broadcast.

Pakistan Cup schedule


Tuesday Apr 19 15:00 Balochistan v Punjab

Wednesday Apr 20 15:00 Islamabad v KP

Thursday Apr 21 15:00 Balochistan v Sindh

Friday Apr 22 15:00 KP v Punjab

Saturday Apr 23 15:00 Islamabad v Sindh

Sunday Apr 24 15:00 Balochistan v KP

Monday Apr 25 15:00 Islamabad v Punjab

Wednesday Apr 27 15:00 KP v Sindh

Thursday Apr 28 15:00 Balochistan v Islamabad

Friday Apr 29 15:00 Punjab v Sindh

Sunday May 1 15:00 Final