ISLAMABAD - Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif congratulated the newly elected PML-N members of Gilgit-Baltistan Council and hoped that they would serve the cause of the people of the area and would take forward the party’s policy to bring these areas at par with rest of the developed areas of the country.

The prime minister also congratulated Chief Minister Gilgit-Baltistan Hafiz Hafeezur Rehman on this victory and hoped that he would continue the cause of the people of the area with same spirit and zeal.

Out of six seats of Gilgit-Baltistan Council four seats were bagged by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidates while one seat each was won by Islami Tehreek and an independent. The PML-N candidates who won the elections included Arman Shah, Sultan Ali Khan, Muhammad Ashraf Sada and Wazir Akhlaq Hussain.