MALAHIDE - Sharjeel Khan's blistering 152 laid the platform for Pakistan's 255-run thrashing of Ireland in the first one-day international at Malahide on Thursday.

Sharjeel's maiden century in the format became the third quickest 150 ever seen in ODI history as Pakistan piled up 337 for six in a rain-reduced 47 overs, with Shoaib Malik (57 not out) and debutant Mohammad Nawaz (53) also in the runs in the first of a two-match series which concludes at Malahide on Saturday.

Ireland were then skittled out for just 82, with Imad Wasim taking an ODI best five for 14 and Umar Gul, on his return to the side after an absence of 16 months, three for 23 as Pakistan completed their biggest win by runs in the format, while the hosts posted their second lowest total.

On a green pitch, which played well after a delayed start, Ireland conceded 300 for the second successive game at Malahide, after Sri Lanka amassed 377 for eight in June. Pulling majestically, the 27-year-old Sharjeel passed his best ODI score -- from 11 previous innings -- of 61 with three successive fours off Peter Chase and brought up his hundred from just 61 balls with his 12th four to go with five sixes. When he brought up his 150, just 24 balls later, he had added another nine boundaries, four of them sixes, and only South Africa's AB de Villiers and Australia's Shane Watson had reached the landmark quicker in an ODI. Sharjeel was out next ball, caught behind off Barry McCarthy but Malik, who hit 57 off just 37 balls with six fours and two sixes and Nawaz, with seven fours, then put on 105 for the sixth wicket from just 83 deliveries.

Only Tim Murtagh and McCarthy stood up to the onslaught, with Durham professional McCarthy finishing with his second four-wicket haul in only his seventh ODI, while wicket-keeper Niall O'Brien held four catches. The Ireland innings got off to a disastrous start with Paul Stirling, returning to the opener's slot, bowled second ball by Mohammad Amir and when Gul was introduced, he took three wickets in 10 balls to reduce Ireland to 32 for four. Left-arm spinner Imad Wasim struck with his seventh delivery, having Niall O'Brien stumped for 10, one of only four Ireland batsmen to reach double figures. Nawaz completed an excellent debut with the wicket of Ireland top-scorer Gary Wilson, stumped for 21 as he came down the pitch. Pakistan had also lost an early wicket when captain Azhar Ali was caught behind to McCarthy's ninth ball, but Mohammad Hafeez (37) helped and Babar Azam (29) proved able allies for Sharjeel to help their side recover.

The only time Pakistan were troubled was when Sarfraz Ahmed followed Sharjeel back to the pavilion just three balls later to leave Pakistan 227 for five, but Malik and Nawaz continued to take apart Irish spinners Andy McBrine and Stirling, who conceded 107 runs in their combined 12 overs.



1 290 NZL IRL Aberdeen 2008

2 275 AUS AFG Perth WC2015

3 272 RSA ZIM Benoni 2010

4 258 RSA SRI Paarl 2012

5 257 IND BER Port-of-Spain WC2007

5 257 RSA WIS Sydney WC2015

6 256 AUS NAM Potchefstroom WC2003

6 256 IND HKG Karachi 2008

7 255 PAK IRL Malahide 2016

READ MORE: A leather jacket

8 245 SRI IND Sharjah 2000



Azhar Ali c N O'Brien b McCarthy 1

Sharjeel c N O'Brien b McCarthy 152

Hafeez c Porterfield b Chase 37

Babar c N O'Brien b McCarthy 29

Sarfraz c N O'Brien b Murtagh 2

Shoaib Malik not out 57

Nawaz c Stirling b McCarthy 53

Imad Wasim not out 0

Extras (lb3, w3) 6

Total (6 wkts, 47 overs) 337

FOW: 1-17, 2-107, 3-203, 4-226, 5-227, 6-332.

BOWLING: Murtagh 10-0-38-1; McCarthy 10-1-62-4; Chase 7-0-70-1; McBrine 5-0-49-0, K O'Brien 8-0-57-0; Stirling 7-0-58-0.


P Stirling b Amir 0

E Joyce c Hasan Ali b Gul 9

W Porterfield b Umar Gul 13

N O'Brien st Sarfraz b Imad 10

K O'Brien c Sarfraz b Gul 4

G Wilson st Sarfraz b Nawaz 21

S Poynter lbw b Imad Wasim 4

A McBrine not out 14

B McCarthy b Imad Wasim 1

T Murtagh b Imad Wasim 0

P Chase b Imad Wasim 0

EXTRAS: (lb2, w4) 6

TOTAL: (all out, 23.4 overs) 82

FOW: 1-0, 2-22, 3-28, 4-32, 5-51, 6-55, 7-81, 8-82, 9-82, 10-82.

BOWLING: Amir 4-1-7-1; Malik 1-0-1-0; Gul 5-0-23-3; Hasan 5-0-21-0; Imad 5.4-0-14-5; Nawaz 3-0-14-1.

TOSS: Ireland

UMPIRES: Simon Fry (AUS), Mark Hawthorne (IRL)

TV UMPIRE: Marais Erasmus (RSA)


TOSS: Ireland

UMPIRES: Simon Fry (AUS), Mark Hawthorne (IRL)

TV UMPIRE: Marais Erasmus (RSA)