LONDON - England have rested fast bowler James Anderson and batsman Jonathan Trott from the ODI series in India in January and replaced them with Chris Woakes and Jos Buttler. They have also included batsman Joe Root in the Twenty20 squad for the two matches in December before they return home for Christmas.

"Woakes and Buttler replace Anderson and Trott in the India ODI squad as the selectors look to manage workloads," the ECB said in a statement. Anderson had originally been selected only to play the first three matches of the five-ODI series, but he will now miss the entire contest after playing an important role in England's 2-1 victory in the Test series in India.

Woakes, who is currently playing domestic cricket in New Zealand, has played six ODIs, taking seven wickets at 29.14 and scoring 72 runs. Most of scalps came in one innings when he claimed 6 for 45 against Australia in Brisbane. He spent a lot of time around the squad during 2012 without commanding a regular place.

Buttler, the 22-year-old Somerset batsman, only has one ODI cap under his belt. In that match, against Pakistan in Dubai, he collected a second-ball duck. Root was added to the T20 squad that was weakened by the injury to Stuart Broad, who will be replaced as captain as Eoin Morgan. Although Root face 229 balls for his 73 on debut, he also has a more flamboyant side to his game as he showed briefly in the second innings and has demonstrated for Yorkshire in the domestic Friends Life t20.England play Twenty20 internationals on December 20 and 22 before returning home for Christmas and the New Year. They return to India in the first week of January for the ODI series.

TWENTY20 SQUAD: Jonny Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan (capt), Samit Patel, James Tredwell, Luke Wright, Joe Root, James Harris.

ODI SQUAD: Alastair Cook (capt), Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes, Jos Buttler.