LAHORE - Pakistan will take on host Sri Lanka, Chinese Taipei and Brunei Darussalam when third AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers (Group-D) will explode into action on 4 April 2009. On opening day, Sri Lanka will take on Brunei at 4 PM while Pakistan will clash with Chinese Taipei at 6.30 PM. Sri Lanka will host four-team Group-D at Sugathadasa Stadium in Sri Lankan capital of Colombo that erupt gold to Pakistan in 1991, 2004 South Asian Games. The draw for the AFC Challenge Cup qualifiers threw up a handful of nail-biting encounters. With titlist India, 2006 gold medalist Tajikistan and DPR Korea enjoying direct entry to the finals, the draw slotted 16 teams into four groups of four teams each. The Tajiks were runners-up in 2008 while DPR Korea finished third. "Asian Football Confederation (AFC) launched the competition two years ago in efforts to develop the game in the continent's 'emerging' football nations. Unlike the AFC Presidents Cup, the AFC Challenge Cup is a competition for national teams. AFC received a total of 17 entries for the third edition of the competition and the AFC Competitions Committee decided that the last two teams according to the FIFA rankings in the list would play off for a spot in the qualification." said Pakistan Football Federation (PFF)'s President Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat Macau will face Mongolia in a two-legged play-off, whose two matches will be held on 7 and 14 March, 2009 with the winner joining Myanmar, Cambodia, Bangladesh in Group-A. Group B will see SAFF Champion Maldives, Turkmenistan, the Philippines and Bhutan fight it out while Group C stood out as the most interesting to watch with Nepal, who are hosting the section, finding themselves alongside Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan and Palestine. The winners of each group and the best second-placed team from among the groups advance to the eight-team finals (five qualifiers plus three direct entrants). 3rd AFC Challenge Cup 2009 (Bye : holders India, Tajikistan, DPR Korea) PLAYOFF 07/03/2009 - Macau v Mongolia 14/03/2009 - Mongolia v Macau THE GROUPINGS GROUP A Bangladesh (host), Myanmar, Cambodia, Macau/Mongolia GROUP B Maldives (host), Turkmenistan, The Philippines, Bhutan GROUP C Nepal (host), Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, Palestine GROUP D Sri Lanka (host), Pakistan, Chinese Taipei, Brunei Darussalam