LAHORE - The Election Commission on Wednesday declared 11 candidates from Punjab as elected unopposed to the Senate of Pakistan following withdrawal of their nomination papers by opponents on the instructions of their respective political leadership. On seven general seats from Punjab, PPP's Jehangir Badr and Salahuddin Dogar, PML-N's Raja Zafarul Haq, Zafar Ali Shah, Pervaiz Rashid and Mushahidullah and PML-Q's Ch Shujaat Hussain have returned unopposed to the Upper House as a result of broader understanding reached among three major political parties. The PPP candidate Aurangzeb Burki withdrew his nomination papers on the instructions of Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani who chaired a meeting of PPP legislators at Governor's House here regarding Senate election. Similarly, on women seats, Sughra Imam of PPP and Begum Najma Hameed of PML-N have made it to the Senate unopposed after PPP's Shaista Jabeen and PML-Q's Rozina Alam withdrew their nomination papers. Likewise, on two seats of technocrats, PPP's Kazim Khan and PML-N's Sajid Mir have been declared successful. Earlier, PML-Q's Mushahid Hussain Syed and PPP's Dr Akbar Khawaja withdrew their nomination papers in favour of these candidates. A formal notification by the Election Commission about success of these candidates will be issued in a day or two.