Islamabad - Formulation of national water policy was sought on Wednesday for meeting the rising demand of water consumption in the country.

The formation of national water policy was urged during the second meeting of board of governors of Pakistan Council of Research in Water Resources (PCRWR). Speaking on the occasion, Federal Minister for Science and Technology, Rana Tanveer Hussain said that meeting of BoG should be held after every six months. He said that more reservoirs are needed for water storage in the country, adding that water management proposals should be formulated for the next five years.

Chairman PCRWR Dr M Ashraf while briefing the meeting on the projects, research and role of the organisation said that there was a need of water conservation and management in agriculture sector. He said that shortfall of water was 11% in 2004 and it will increase to 31% in 2025. He said that water related problems could be resolved with commercialisation of research, human resource development and management in the area.

Senator Rehman Malik said that a task force should be constituted for management of waste, flood and rainwater storage in Balochistan for increasing productivity of the province. He said that international donors and local participation is of utmost importance for water management in the country.

MNA Awais Laghari said that there was a need to replicate the technology of the advanced countries for water resources management. He urged the provincial governments to implement the recommendations of the PCRWR for handling the most crucial issue of water scarcity in the country. He said that government should regulate water pumps and tube wells boring in the country.

The meeting was attended by the board of governors including Federal Minister for Science and Technology, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Federal Secretary MoST, Kamran Ali Qureshi, Senator A Rehman Malik, MNA Sardar Awais Ahmed Khan Laghari, Mian Tanvir Ahmad Sheikh, Chairman PCRWR Dr M Ashraf, Ahsan Khan, Syed Abdul Ahad Agha, Dr Nadeem Qamar, Director General Agriculture (MW) Punjab, Chaudhary M Ashraf, M Waseem Asghar,  Engr Riaz Ahmad, Aslam Ansari, Chairman Federal Flood Commission Asjad Imtiaz and representatives from finance department.