LAHORE - The tehsil level competitions of Punjab Youth Festival (PYF) rolled into action here on Saturday across the province.

As many as 238 participants featured in different contests in Gulberg Town Lahore out of which 44 emerged as winners. Hameed grabbed the athletics event followed by Khalid. The badminton title went to Basheer Ali while Imtiaz and Rashid Ali bagged the top two positions in bodybuilding contest. The competition of weightlifting went to Mubarak while Khadim XI defeated Khalid XI in basketball contest.

In Nishtar Town, 42 players remained successful out 346 participants in various competitions. Bilawal and Mujtaba finished first and second respectively in billiard championship. Jamshed XI thrashed Nasir Xi in basketball event while Yousuf Ali XI captured the hockey title while Nabeel Ali won the table tennis event. As many as 276 players demonstrated their talent in different games in Wahga Town where 61 players returned triumphant. In badminton competition, Shahbaz trounced Ali Butt.

In Shalimar Town, 873 athletes featured in various games out of which 74 emerged successful. The tug of war event went to Sajjad XI while in bodybuilding event, Rafiq and Hussian grabbed first two positions and Aqeel XI were declared winners against Javed XI in kabaddi event. The participation remained a bit thinner in Aziz Bhatti Town where only 52 players turned up to the field and only four were adjudged triumphant.

In Data Gunj Bakhsh Town, 58 players out of 364 players remained successful in different events. As many as 80 athletes displayed their potential in different sporting events out of which 14 got top positions. In Samanabad Town, 295 players were in action on Saturday where 37 were winners. In Iqbal Town, 84 athletes featured in PYF event and 14 returned winners.

Overall, 4422 tehsil of players of Kasur, Nankana Sahib and Sheikhupura districts of Lahore Division took part in various competitions and 378 were declared winners. In all, 1991 players of Jhang, Toba Tek Singh districts of Faisalabad Division tehsils participated in different events where 852 emerged as winners.

In tehsils of Okara and Pakpattan districts of Sahiwal Division, 3322 participated in different events and among them 810 were the winners. In tehsils of Vehari, Khanewal and Lodhran districts of Multan Division, out of 830, 141 remained successful. In tehsils of Rahim Yar Khan and Bahawalnagar districts of Bahawalpur Division, 476 were victorious out of 1314 participants.

In tehsils of Rajanpur, Layyah and Muzaffargarh districts of DG Khan Division, 3803 were seen in action and 1813 had smiles on their faces. In tehsils of Chakwal, Attock and Jhelum districts of Rawalpindi Division, 373 locked horns in various events and 91 were declared winners while in tehsils of Bhakkar, Khushab and Mianwali districts of Sargodha Division, 6137 were victorious out of 22,226.