ISLAMABAD The PPP-led coalition government has decided in principle to set up a new commission to probe the May 2 US Abbottabad raid that purportedly killed Al-Qaeda chief Osama bin Laden (OBL). Well-placed official sources told TheNation on Saturday that President Asif Ali Zardari and Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani have ordered the Ministry of Law and Justice to do the spadework that includes consultations in the light of the unanimous resolution adopted by the Parliament on May13. Consultations, sources said, would be a two-pronged process talks with Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry as well as with Leader of Opposition in the National Assembly Ch Nisar Ali Khan. Sources said this would help remove the misgivings created as a result of the formation of a commission earlier that was headed by a senior judge of the Supreme Court, Justice Javed Iqbal, but was set up without prior consultations. The government will try to ensure that no procedural lapses occur this time round so that unquestionable credibility of the independence of the commission is acquired, said a senior government official of the Ministry of Law and Justice, requesting not to be named. The fate of the earlier five-member commission, headed by Justice Javed, would depend on the outcome of the consultations process, sources said, adding that it all depends whether the Chief Justice would accept the nomination of Justice Javed or a new judge of the Supreme Court would be nominated to head the commission. The probability, however, is evenly balanced, sources added. Similarly, they said that it would also depend whether the PML-N accepts the same names or proposes new names to be inducted as members of the commission. It is premature to comment on the size of the commission, sources added. The five-member commission became controversial shortly after its announcement when one of the members, Justice (retd) Fakhruddin G Ibrahim, declined to join the commission on account of non-consultation. It become more controversial after the PML-N, the main opposition party, also rejected it on the ground that the government did not follow the legal procedure for the formation of an inquiry commission. Other members of the commission were Lt-Gen (retd) Nadeem Ahmed, Abbas Khan and Ashraf Jahnagir Qazi.