Bangladesh defeated India in the first one-day international of the series held at the Shere Bangla stadium in Mirpur. Bangladesh have already whitewashed Pakistan in a home-series, crawling their way up in the rankings and showcasing the new talent that they have at their disposal.

Bangladesh captain, Mashrafe Mortaza, won the toss and elected to bat first. Bangladesh handed one-day international caps to Litton Das and Mustafizur Rahman. Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar continued their explosive form and piled 102 runs between them for the opening partnership. The hosts suffered from a top-order collapse and quickly had their top four back in the pavilion. Shakib al Hasan, accompanied by Sabbir Rahman, began rebuilding the innings in order to increase their chances of putting up a fighting total. Cameos from Nasir Hossain and captain Mortaza helped Bangladesh finish the innings on a high note by compiling their highest ever total against India.

India began the chase with an experienced batting line-up and a good track-record of chasing down large totals. Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma gave the Bangladesh bowlers a tough time and were looking to take the game away from the hosts. Young Taskin Ahmed got the breakthrough that Bangladesh needed and sent back a set Dhawan. Taskin struck again to get rid of the Indian vice-captain, Virat Kohli, to fight back into the match.

The captain handed the bowl to 19 year-old debutant Mustafizur Rahman. Rahman demolished the Indian batting line-up, not allowing the new batsmen any time to settle. Ravindra Jadega and Suresh Raina tried to save the match, but both the batsmen fell prey to the debutant. Towards the end, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohit Sharma fought for a lost cause and perished in quick succession.

Bangladesh claimed the victory by 79 runs to bolster their chances of qualification for the ICC Champions Trophy scheduled to be held in 2017.