MUMBAI - England posted the highest successful run chase ever at a World Twenty20 tournament with Joe Root smashing 83 as they overhauled an improbable South Africa total by two wickets in a run-fest on Friday.

Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla struck half-centuries at the top while JP Duminy provided the late assault with an unbeaten fifty as South Africa posted a massive 229-4 after put in to bat in their Group One match at the Wankhede Stadium.

If South Africa , considered one of the favourites for the tournament, hoped they had amassed enough runs, they were in for a rude shock as England attacked their bowlers left, right and centre to post their highest ever T20 total and the second highest run chase ever in the format.

"The fact that we can pull off performances like that with the bat will give us lot of confidence for the rest of this group stage and hopefully further on in the tournament," Root, still wearing his batting pads, told reporters. "There is no better feeling than winning a game when you are up against it. I can't wait to get back in the dressing room and celebrate with the rest of the boys."

England, the 2010 champions, looked comfortable for most part of their chase before losing three wickets in seven balls towards the end but eventually reached their target with two balls to spare.

Jason Roy (43) and Alex Hales gave England a rollicking start, posting 48 in just 15 deliveries before both were out to paceman Kyle Abbott. England looked to maintain their batting tempo though leg-spinner Imran Tahir tempered it with 1-28 in his four overs.

But Root, who was out in the penultimate over, hit six boundaries and four sixes in his 44-ball knock and added 75 for the fifth wicket with Jos Buttler (21), bringing the sizeable crowd to their feet. England were on the receiving end of a brutal onslaught from West Indies opener Chris Gayle during Wednesday's defeat when their spinners struggled to grip the wet ball and that prompted captain Eoin Morgan to field after winning the toss.

But Amla (58) and De Kock (52) tormented the English bowlers, plundering 96 runs off seven overs during an explosive opening stand. South Africa opted to use Amla and De Kock as openers and it proved it was the right decision from the onset.

De Kock, who thrashed David Willey for 20 in the third over, hit seven fours and three sixes during his 24-ball knock before he fell to off-spinner Moeen Ali. Amla, who was dropped on nine by Reece Topley off Ali, hit an identical number of boundaries before falling to the off-spinner.

Duminy (54 not out) and David Miller (28 not out) provided the finishing touches for South Africa with an unbroken fifth-wicket stand of 60. England paceman Chris Jordan conceded four fours and a six in the fifth over and finished with figures of 0-49 in three overs. Topley gave away 33 in his two overs.



H Amla lbw b Ali 58

Q de Kock c Hales b Ali 52

AB de Villiers c Morgan b Rashid 16

F du Plessis c Roy b Willey 17

JP Duminy not out 54

D Miller not out 28

EXTRAS: (b2, w2) 4

TOTAL: (4 wkts, 20 overs) 229

FOW: 1-96, 2-114, 3-133, 4-169

BOWLING: Willey 4-0-40-1, Topley 2-0-33-0, Ali 4-0-34-2, Jordan 3-0-49-0, Stokes 2-0-23-0, Rashid 4-0-35-1, Root 1-0-13-0


J Roy c de Kock b Abbott 43

A Hales lbw b Abbott 17

B Stokes c Morris b Rabada 15

J Root c Miller b Rabada 83

E Morgan b Duminy 12

J Buttler st de Kock b Tahir 21

M Ali not out 8

C Jordan c Duminy b Abbott 5

D Willey run out 0

A Rashid not out 0

EXTRAS: (lb 6, w 20) 26

TOTAL: (8 wkts, 19.4 overs) 230

FOW: 1-48, 2-71, 3-87, 4-111, 5-186, 6-219, 7-229, 8-229

BOWLING: Rabada 4-0-50-2, Steyn 2-0-35-0, Abbott 3.4-0-41-3, Tahir 4-0-28-1, Duminy 3-0-31-1, Morris 3-0-39-0

TOSS: England

UMPIRES: Sundaram Ravi (IND) and Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV UMPIRE: Rod Tucker (AUS)


Highest T20 Second Innings

Team Score Opposition Venue

West Indies 236/6 v South Africa Johannesburg

England 230/8 v South Africa Mumbai

Australia 214/4 v New Zealand Christchurch

India 211/4 v Sri Lanka Mohali

England 209/6 v Australia Southampton

South Africa 208/2 v West Indies Johannesburg

Australia 205/5 v South Africa Johannesburg

New Zealand 202/5 v Zimbabwe Hamilton

India 202/4 v Australia Rajkot

South Africa 200/3 v India Dharamsala

England 200/6 v India Durban

England 200/9 v Australia Hobart

India 200/3 v Australia Sydney

Australia 199/7 v South Africa Johannesburg

Australia 197/7 v Pakistan Gros Islet