LAHORE - Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif is all set to be re-elected as Punjab President of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz in the intra party election today.

Although Shehbaz Sharif has been rivaled by another contestant - Mian Shaukat Ali - for the Presidential slot, chances are bright that he will return as unopposed to the party top office in Punjab.

Party sources say a senior leader of the party, Senator Ch Jaffar Iqbal Gujjar, is also sure of becoming senior vice president of the Punjab chapter while two offices are likely to be created for the party general secretary for South Punjab and the Central Punjab for better management and organisation of the party.

After the election, sources say, some subordinate offices will be filled in on the discretion of the President for which the Party constitution holds a provision.

The members of Punjab Council of the party will gather at Expo Centre to elect the office bearers.

Members of the Provincial Election Authority of the PML-N namely, Mansha Ullah Butt, Senator Saleem Zia, MNA Dr Darshan Lal, provincial minister Begum Zakya Shahnawaz and Haji Irfan Daha will conduct the polls. They authority received nomination papers for the party offices.

Khwaja Nazir Ahmad MPA, along with other members of the party, filed nomination papers on behalf of CM Shehbaz Sharif at the party office. Provincial minister Malik Nadeem Kamran has filed nomination papers for the office of Senior Vice Presidentship while that of Sameeullah Khan for Secretary Information. For the vice president office, Nighat Perveen and Arshad Leghari have filed the nomination papers.

MPA Mian Marghoob has filed nomination papers for the Finance Secretary of the Punjab chapter.

So far, Senator Saood Majid for the South and Provincial Minister Raja Ashfaq Sarwar for Central Punjab are being tipped as potential nominees for the said slots.

According to the schedule, scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place at 9am while objections to the same will be entertained till 10am and withdrawal of the papers will be held at 10:30am and final list will remain displayed till 12noon followed by voting.