LAHORE  - Differences have surfaced between Independent Lawyers Group led by Advocate Asma Jahangir and Mian Israr Group over candidate for the slot of Secretary for upcoming elections of the Supreme Court Bar Association.

The Independent Lawyers Group has already announced its candidates for the slots of the President, Vice President and Secretary.

Advocate Asma Jahangir, former President of SCBA, had earlier nominated Advocate Muhammad Asif Cheema as the group’s candidate for office of the Secretary.

However, another group led by SCBA sitting President Mian Israrul Haq came forward on Wednesday and denied that Advocate Asif Cheema was candidate of his group.

Mian Israrul Haq had in 2012 won the election as President of SCBA with the support of Independent Lawyers Group led by Advocate Asma Jahangir.

In a Press release issued here on Wednesday, SCBA President said his group of lawyers held a meeting on Tuesday night and expressed their confidence on Advocate Mian Muhammad Aslam as candidate for the Secretary’s slot.

He denied the reports that Advocate Asif Cheema was a consensus candidate of the group.

He said Advocate Mian Muhammad Aslam is group’s candidate and the group was contacting with the lawyers of the Supreme Court throughout the country. He claimed Advocate Mian Aslam enjoyed the support of PPP leader Advocate Sardar Latif Khan Khosa group and PML-N’s leader Advocate Rana Mashhood.

When contacted, Asma Jahangir said she was busy and didn’t want to comment on SCBA upcoming elections.

SCBA elections would held in next month, October. The Independent Lawyers Group and Professional Lawyers Group, led by Hamid Khan Advocate, have already announced their candidates for the slots of the President, Vice President and Secretary.

The Professional Lawyers Group has nominated Advocate Amanullah Kanraani (from Balochistan) as candidate for President, Rana Naeem Sarwar for Vice President slot and Advocate Azmatullah for Secretary’s office.

The Independent Lawyers Group of Asma Jahangir has nominated Advocate Kamran Murtaza (also from Balochistan) for President’s office while Mian Abbas Shah for VP’s slot.