TANK - PTI’s Dawar Kundi has grabbed Tank’s NA-25 seat by obtaining 74,000 votes, defeating rival JUI-F’s candidate Maulana Asad Mahmood, who got 62,721 votes.

This constituency is considered as the stronghold of the JUI-F as its chief Maulana Fazlur Rahman earlier scored a victory here by obtaining over 90,000 votes.

The Maulana decided to take oath from NA-24 and vacated the other two seats i.e. NA-25 (DI Khan) and NA-27 (Lukki Marwat). Jamiat awarded NA-27 ticket to Maulana Ataur Rehman, former federal minister for tourism while NA-25 ticket went to JUI-F’s Maulana Asad Mehmood, son of JUI-F chief.

Due to the deteriorating law and order situation on the occasion of by-election in Tank, the voting had to be rescheduled for September 18.

Election Commission Khyber Pakhtunkhwa had established 308 polling stations for by-election in the constituency, where there are 366,500 registered voters. There was a holiday in the city on election day.

The polling for by-election got under way at 8:00am and continued till 5:00pm.

The by-election in NA-25 was originally scheduled to be held on August 22 but Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) postponed it in the wake of unsatisfactory law and order situation in the constituency.

The official announcement of PTI victory would be made after two days.