LONDON (AFP) Englands Graeme Swann was added to the long list for the International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricketer of the Year award on Thursday after his original omission sparked a furious reaction in Britain. Former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, who chaired the selection committee, insisted Swanns absence from the original 16-man list was a genuine oversight. Lloyd, chairman of a selection panel that included fellow ex-internationals Angus Fraser (England), Matthew Hayden (Australia), Ravi Shastri (India) and Zimbabwes Duncan Fletcher, also a former England coach, said in an ICC statement issued Thursday: It was a genuine oversight on the part of the committee as Graeme fully deserved to be nominated in this category. Graeme, during the voting period, produced some very strong performances which puts him alongside the other top performers. On behalf of the selection panel, I apologise for this oversight, added Lloyd, also the chairman of the ICCs cricket committee. Shortly after the ICC released Lloyds statement, Swann took his 100th Test wicket when he caught and bowled Mohammad Yousuf on the second day of the third Test against Pakistan at The Oval here on Wednesday. Swannn reached the landmark in his 23rd Test the same number as it took legendary Australia leg-spinner Shane Warne and England left-arm spin great Derek Underwood to reach their century of Test wickets. No England cricketer had got to a hundred wickets in fewer Tests since all-rounder Ian Botham brought up his century in his 19th match back in 1979, although fast bowler Stephen Harmison also got to a hundred in 23 matches five years ago. During the voting period, from August 24 2009 to August 10 2010, Swann took 49 wickets, including six five-wicket hauls in a Test innings and one 10-wicket haul in a match. The 31-year-old, also a member of Englands ICC World Twenty20 winning team, took 28 one-day international wickets at an average of 23.28 with an economy rate of 4.46 during the same period. Former England captain Michael Atherton branded Swanns original omission as an utter disgrace. Meanwhile current England wicketkeeper Matt Prior, speaking after stumps at The Oval here on Wednesday said: All I would say is that Swanny has bowled brilliantly. He has been fantastic for us and it has been very obvious for everyone to see. He has been full of confidence and bowled beautifully. Long may that continue. Eight players are each up for three awards as part of the ICCs annual ceremony designed to honour Test, one-day international and combined performances. Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag from India, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and Sri Lankas Mahela Jayawardene are all candidates for the Test, ODI and player of the year categories. Shortlists for each award will be produced before the ceremony in Bengaluru, India on October 6. Long list of nominees for leading 2010 ICC awards: Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (RSA), Doug Bollinger (AUS), Michael Clarke (AUS), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND), Ryan Harris (AUS), Mitchell Johnson (AUS), Jacques Kallis (RSA), Morne Morkel (RSA), Ricky Ponting (AUS), Kumar Sangakkara (SRI), Virender Sehwag (IND), Dale Steyn (RSA), Graeme Swann (ENG), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Daniel Vettori (NZL), AB de Villiers (RSA), Shane Watson (AUS).