ISLAMABAD - The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday decided to hold first phase of local government elections in Punjab and Sindh on October 12 this year.

The schedule of the elections would be issued on August 21, said spokesman for the ECP. According to the proposed schedule, candidates can file their nomination papers from August 28 to Sep 1, he added.

The spokesman further said that scrutiny of the nomination papers would be conducted from Sept 3 to 8 and last date for filing appeals against decisions of the returning officers rejecting/accepting the papers would be held on September 12.

Last dates for deciding appeals by the tribunals and withdrawal of the candidature would be September 17 and 18, respectively. The list of the candidates will be displayed on September 19 and polling will be held on October 12.

He said that the elections would be held in the first phase in Lodhran and Vehari districts of Multan division, Bahawalpur and Bahawalnagar districts of Bahawalpur division, district Toba Tek Singh of Faisalabad division, district Sargodha of Sargodha division, district Kasur and Nankana of Lahore division, district Gujrat of Gujranawala division and districts Rawalpindi and Attock of Rawalpindi division of the Punjab.

Matiari, Tando Allahyar, Tando Muhammad Khan,Thatta, Sujhawal, Badin, Hyderabad , Dadu and Jamshoro districts of Hyderabad division, Khairpur of Sukkur division, Larkana, Shikarpur and Qamber Shahdadkot of Larkana Division have been selected for the first phase LB elections in Sindh.