rawalpindi - Regional Police Officer (RPO) Wisal Fakhar Sultan Raja has demoted 96 police officers , including 16 deputy superintendents of police, by withdrawing their out-of-turn promotions following the orders of Supreme Court of Pakistan (SCP).

Some serving DSPs, including Mirza Zaman, serving as SDPO Waris Khan Circle, Muhammad Asghar, DSP Motorway, Muhammad Azam Butt, DSP Special Branch, Khan Zaman, DSP Traffic Rawalpindi and Abdul Waheed, DSP Counter Terrorism, were also among the demoted police officers .

Moreover, Station House Officer (SHO) Police Station (PS) Airport Chaudhry Jamil has also been demoted to the rank of head constable. Earlier, SHO PS Westridge Nadim Zafar was also reverted to the rank of head constable.

A notification in this regard has also been issued by the RPO yesterday, informed a police spokesman. According to him, RPO Wisal Fakhar has demoted a total of 96 police officers to the same rank on which they were serving at the time of their out-of-turn promotions. The step was taken by RPO on the directives of SCP, he said.

The police officers removed from their seats included 16 DSPs, 16 Inspectors, 42 Sub Inspectors (SIs) and 22 Assistant Sub Inspectors (ASIs), he added.

DSPs, who have been reverted by RPO, included Mirza Zaman, Muhammad Asghar, Chaudhry Muhammad Iftikhar, Muhammad Shafique, Mirza Tahir Sikandar, Muhammad Azam Butt, Zaigham Abbas, Majeed Akhtar, Malik Muhammad Anwar, Malik Muhammad Afsar, Malik Muhammad Umar Hayyat, Khan Zaman, Abdul Waheed, Iqbal Hussain, Safdar Iqbal and Asad Ishaq.

Whereas Javed Hassan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ilyas Khan, Jamil Anwar Abbasi, Ayaz Mehmood, Tahir Anees, Mudassir Raffique, Babar Bashir, Muhammad Riaz, Muhammad Nauman, Mehmood Hussain, Aftab Bashir, Muhammad Sheraz (Retd), Rukhsar Ahmed (Retd), Muhammad Yousaf (Retd) and Chaudhry Muhammad Jamil were the inspectors who have been demoted, the spokesman added.