LAHORE - Capital City Police Officer Chaudhry Shafique Ahmed dismissed from service 15 police officials including six traffic wardens and three constables on the charges of misuse of power, corruption, illegal detention and delay in registration of FIRs.
The Lahore police chief also awarded punishments including forfeiture of service, penalty, censure and deduction in pay to 15 other policemen from the rank of sub-inspector to constable.
The CCPO accepted the appeals of 30 policemen and set aside the punishments given to them by their respective police officers.
According to a police spokesman, the CCPO dismissed from service SI Iftikhar Ahmad, SI Akhtar Hussain, Traffic Warden Jamshed Ahmad Khan, Zafar Iqbal, Nabeel Syed, Naseer Ahmad, Shaukat Ali, and Shamshad Ali.
Driver Constable Mohammad Sajid, Constable Mohammad Arshad, and Amir Rasheed were also dismissed from service on the charges of keeping citizens in illegal confinement, applying wrong sections in the FIRs, delaying in registration of FIRs and poor performance.
The CCPO demoted Inspector Zulfiqar Ahmad from the rank of sub inspector, Karamat Ali and Ghulam Abbas from the rank of SI to ASI, and Mohammad Haneef from the rank of ASI to Head Constable.
Meanwhile, Lahore DIG (Operations) Rana Abdul Jabbar on Monday suspended from service station house officer (SHO) Township Inspector Rana Akmal on the charges of corruption. The DIG has also ordered a departmental inquiry against the inspector.
A police spokesman said that the DIG also warned the officials that any policeman found involved in malpractice or corruption would be taken to task.