ISLAMABAD - Air Marshal (r) Asghar Khan, on June 16, 1996, wrote a letter to former chief justice of Pakistan Sajjad Ali Shah listing the politicians with the amounts they allegedly received in the 1990 elections.

According to that list, among the politician from Punjab, Nawaz Sharif got Rs3.5 million, Mir Afzal Khan Rs10 million, Abida Hussain Rs1 million and Altaf Hussain Qureshi Rs500,000. From Sindh, Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi got Rs5 million, Jam Sadiq Rs5 million, Pir Pagara Rs2 million, Muhammad Khan Junejo Rs250,000 and Maulana Salahuddin Rs300,000, while different small groups in Sindh got Rs5.4 million.

From Balochistan Humayun Marri received Rs1.5 million, while the letter also contained the names of Bazenjo and Kakar tribes. Jamat-e-Islami (party) also received Rs5 million, while Lt-Gen (r) Rafaqat got Rs5.6 million for distribution among journalists.

On March, 2012, Mehran Bank’s chief executive Younis Habib told the Supreme Court in a statement that MQM Chief Altaf Hussain was given Rs20 million, PML-N Chief Nawaz Sharif received Rs3.5 million and his brother Shahbaz Sharif got Rs2.5 million.