LAHORE - Openers M Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Nasir Jamshed, and Wahab Riaz were included in the squad which Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Saturday squad for the five One-day Internationals series against South Africa to be played in United Arab Emirates (UAE). 

Veteran batman Younus Khan, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal and Abdul Razzaq were ignored by the selectors. Hafeez, 32 years old, failed in the two-match Test series in Zimbabwe last month, scoring just 59. But he fared considerably better in the one-day matches, scoring a hundred and winning man of the series. That prompted selectors to include Hafeez in the one-day series against the Proteas which starts in Sharjah on October 30.

Umar Akmal did not play in the one-dayers in Zimbabwe after he suffered from a seizure during a flight to Jamaica to play in the Caribbean Premier League in August. He recovered quickly after consulting a neurologist and was declared fit to represent Pakistan, though he was not considered for the Test series against Zimbabwe or the ongoing series against South Africa.

The players in the Test squad not retained for the one-day series include left-arm spinner Zulfiqar Babar who took five wickets in his debut Test and openers, Khurrum Manzoor the man of the match in the first Test with a hundred and debutant, Shaan Masood who scored 75.

Sohail Tanveer returns to the one-day squad after having last played in an ODI in August 2012, however, he has been a regular in the Pakistan Twenty20 squad. Haris Sohail and Anwar Ali were both axed from the one-day squad which won the one-day series 2-1 in Zimbabwe last month.

"The idea is to build up a balanced side for the 2015 World Cup with emphasis on specialist players for this format," one national selector said. He said the plan was to build and strengthen specialist Test, one-day and T20 squads since the ICC Test championship was also now confirmed.

Pakistan is currently leading the two-Test series against South Africa after winning the first Test in Abu Dhabi by seven wickets. Pakistan will also play two Twenty20 Internationals against South africia for which the squad will be announced later.

ODI SQUAD: Misbahul Haq, Ahmed Shahzad, Nasir Jamshed, M Hafeez, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, M Irfan, Junaid Khan, Sohail Tanveer, Wahab Riaz, Sohaib Maqsood, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed.