LAHORE-Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited (ZTBL) routed State Bank by five wickets in the 5th Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Women’s Cricket Championship 2016 final played here at the Lahore Country Club, Muridke on Wednesday.

Batting first, State Bank posted 124-3 on the board in 20 overs. Iram Javed was top scorer for SBP as she hammered 50-ball 44 runs hitting 2 fours and one six and she was ably assisted by Asmavia Iqbal who slammed 37-ball 43 hitting 5 fours and one six. Captain Sana Mir took 1-11 and Bismah Maroof 1-22.

In reply, ZTBL achieved the required target in 19.2 overs for the loss of five wickets. It was Bismah Maroof’s swashbuckling 54 runs, studded with six fours, which helped her team land home safely. Nahida Khan also batted sensibly for ZTBL and thwarted 35-ball 45 with the help of four fours and one six. Although Anam Amin (2-22), Sumaiya Siddiqi (1-15) and Kainat Imtiaz (1-24) bowled well for State Bank, but they couldn’t save their team’s blushes. Bismah Maroof of ZTBL was declared player of the match while Asmavia Iqbal of State Bank was named best player of the tournament.

Talking to The Nation after his team’s victory, ZTBL GM Sports and former international cricketer Masood Anwar termed the title victory as the result of team work which helped ZTBL once again lift the trophy. He also lauded the services of MD ZTBL due to which ZTBL women cricket team had been producing the best results. “The competition and standard of women cricket is increasing day by day which is good for Pakistan cricket. I hope ZTBL team will continue performing well and will earn more laurels.”