Gymkhana, Defence Raya, Royal Palm teams in a golfing battle

LAHORE  – The golf teams of three leading golf clubs of the city Lahore Gymkhana, Defence Raya and hosts Royal Palm Golf and Country Club merged at the par-72 Royal Palm Golf Course for a golfing battle of skills.

Target of course is to outgolf each other through exhibition and consistent application of masterly adeptness. And the 20-member golf teams of these clubs have a lot of pride at stake, as each player has earned a position for his club based on immaculate display of golfing skills and ability.

In accordance with the format developed for this interclub competition, each club has fielded a 10-member team in the handicap category 0 to 9 and 10-member team in the handicap category 10 to 18 and all the aspirants will fight it out amongst themselves with the aim of contributing vital points to the team aggregate.

The 60 competitors comprising 20 from Royal Palm Golf Club, a similar number from Lahore Gymkhana and an equal number of Defence Raya will tee off in six some three ball combination and face each other over the 18 holes by playing alternate shots. On each hole, six points will be at stake, with the winning pair getting four points, the pair coming second getting two points with no points for the pair coming third. As the contest proceeds, the points get accumulated and point position of each flite will be added up on team basis to determine the winning team.

The competition draws stand as follows; Gen Tariq and Col Jameel Khalid (RP) vs Saeed Ahmed and Tanveer Najm (LG) vs Dr Dildar Hussain and Tauqir Rana (DR); Imran Chaudry and Waqar Butt (RP) vs Usman Jamil and Naveed Sharif (LG) vs Haroon Arshed and Danyal Lashari (DR); Hasan Hamid and Dr Tashbeeb (RP) vs Hassan Samiuddin and Rizwan Raees (LG) vs Raza Khan and Mikhail Majid (DR); Abdul Islam Nazir and Ahmed Baksh Tarar (RP) vs Shehryar Anwar and Asim Zafar (LG) vs Ali Hameed and Ataurrehman (DR); Abdullah Sharif and Zafar Iqbal (RP) vs Rao Usman and Rao Umer (LG) vs Ch Hamid and Abdul Basit (DR).

Damil Ataullah and Hussain Hamid (RP) vs Wazir Ali and Ahsan Khawaja (LG) vs Zunair Aleem and Imran Ahmed (DR); Azfar Hasan and Faisal Ali Malik (RP) vs Salman Jehangir and Mohsen Zafar (LG) vs Col Asf Mehdi and Col Ikram (DR); Shoaib Bokhari and Haris Naseer (RP) vs Ahmed Zafar Hayat and Sardar Murad (LG) vs Omer Salamat and Omair Butt (DR); Faisal Iqbal and Sharjeel Awan (RP) vs Walid Zubair and Amir Mehmood (LG) vs Jamal Nasir and Ahmed Rafi (DR) and Farid Malik and Nasir Mehmood (RP) vs Raza Saeed and Kh Jehanzeb(LG) vs Majid Mushtaq and Khurram Khan (DR).

Lt Gen M Tariq is captain of Royal Palm team and the other two captains are Amir Mehmood of Lahore Gymkhana and Dr Dildar Hussain of Defence Raya. The tee off will take place today (Friday) at 10am through a shot gun start.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More