Centre calls back 30 deputationists from provinces

ISLAMABAD – The federal government has called back 30 officers of grade-17 and 18 of different services groups who were posted in provinces on deputation.

The Establishment Division had also moved a summary to the prime minster for ending deputation of over 400 officers who are working in provinces and other federal government departments.  The Establishment Division has taken the decision in this regard due to shortage of officers in the federal departments.

The Establishment Division are facing crisis of shortage of officers and has posted four deputy secretaries in next grade as joint secretaries under section 10 of the Civil Servants Act, 1973. The federal government has also informed all provinces and departments regarding the federal government’s decision

Chief Minster Punjab Shahbaz Sahrif had also denied granting extension in deputation period of the federal government officers in province.

According to the notification of Punjab government, Chief Minister Punjab Shahbaz Sharif said: “all the administrative departments shall make pro-active efforts to build their capacities from among the officers available to them in the Government of Punjab, who are either employees of the provincial government or are placed in the Punjab government against the encadred posts.  The inevitability factors is no justification for prolonged stays on deputation , which may , at best , be limited to only three years, as is provided in Section 15(10 of the Punjab Civil Servants ( Appointment and Conditions of Service )Rules, 1974”. 

The notification also said: “In pursuance of the above-mentioned observations/orders of the Chief Minister Punjab, no case/request of extension in deputation period involving relaxation of Rule 15(1) of the Punjab Civil Servants (Appointments and Conditions of Service) Rules, 1974 would be entertained by S&GAD, Government of these Punjab, in future”.

According to the details, repatriated officers from provinces and different departments and posted them as section officers in federal ministries. The federal government called back five officers from the Benazir Income Support Programme including Muhammad Hassan Abdullah, Shehryar Abbasi, Muhammad Afazl, Adeel Raza and Mureed Hussain Jasra and handed their services to different Divisions.

The five officers who were posted in Sindh on deputation, including Behzad Amir Memon, Riaz Sali Mailto, Altaf Hussain, Naveed Sikandar and Samad Talib have also been posted in federal ministries as section officer.

The deputation of two officers, including Shahida and Uzair Ahmed, have been cancelled and appointed them in the Ministry of Overseas of Pakistanis and Information and Broadcasting Division. They were serving under the government of Balochistan and deputation previously. The two officers Aisha Karmat Ghuman and Farhan Zahid were called back from Punjab and posted them in the Establishment Division as section officers.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More