Nawaz to chair party’s CEC meeting today

ISLAMABAD – The maiden meeting of the newly formed Central Executive Committee of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz will be held at Punjab House today (Monday) under the chair o former prime minister Nawaz Sharif.

The CEC will review the overall political situation in the country as well as the party’s strategy to deal with challenges on both political and legal fronts.

Sharif, as the ruling party chief, on Saturday notified both the 27-member CEC and the 109-member Central Working Committee (CWC) of the party.

Both the bodies were dominated by members from Punjab the CEC with 27 members, 20 belonged to Punjab while in the 109-member CWC, some 42 are from Punjab. Interestingly, the second generation of the Sharif family was also made part of the apex decision-making body as both Hamza Shahbaz Sharif and Maryam Nawaz Sharif were inducted into the CEC of the party. They are also members of the CWC, and the CEC members are also part of the CWC.

Sources in the party said that since it was the inaugural meeting of the CEC and no formal agenda has been set for a deliberation, but the party leadership would discuss the overall political situation and the re-organization and sprucing up of the party cadre at the grass-roots level would come under discussion.

The party leaders would likely discuss the Senate elections due in March next year and a strategy would be thrashed for the next general election, due in the second half of next year, as the mandated term of the government would end in the beginning of June next year.

The party leadership would also review a strategy to deal with the cases facing the party leadership in the accountability court as Sharif believed that some forces in the country wanted to eliminate him from politics. The party would be devising a multi-pronged strategy to counter cases both on legal and political fronts as the outcome of these cases would have a far-reaching impact on the party’s future politics.

According to the sources, the party would also be giving final touches to the mass-contact campaign by the party leaders across the country which had already been launched with the Abbottabad public rally address by Sharif earlier last month.

The sources confirmed that the mass-contact campaign would be stepped up in coming days and in this connection, the party would assign tasks to the central leadership.

Except for former finance minister Ishaq Dar, who is abroad in connection with his medical treatment, the rest of the CEC members are likely to attend the inaugural meeting of the apex body.

The list of CEC members included Raja Zafarul Haq, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Shahbaz Sahrif, Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan, Ishaq Dar, Khawaja Asif, Ayaz Sadiq, Ahsan Iqbal, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Hamza Shabaz, Maryam Nawaz Sharif, Chaudhry Sher Ali, Maryam Aurangzaib, Irfan Siddiqui, Ameer Maqam, Mushahidullah Khan, Sardar Sana Ullah Zehri, Asif Kirmani, Rana Sanaullah Khan, Farooq Haider, Hafiz Hafeezur Rehman, Pervez Rashid, Barjees Tahir, Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan, Begum Ishrat Ashraf, Babu Sarfraz Khan Jatoi and Asad Khan Junejo.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More