ECP denotifies Jehangir Tareen from NA

Following the directives of the Supreme Court, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday issued a notification disqualifying Jehangir Tareen as a member of the National Assembly.

“The Election Commission of Pakistan hereby de-notify Mr Jahangir Khan Tareen as Member National Assembly of Pakistan from Constituency No NA-154 Lodhran-I with immediate effect,” read the ECP notification.

The apex court in its ruling disqualified Tareen in a graft case, months after former prime minister Nawaz Sharif was removed by the court on a similar charge.

Tareen’s ally Imran Khan, however, escaped a similar fate after the top court dismissed a petition seeking his disqualification.

“The respondent is declared not to be an honest person. He ceased to be member of the parliament. The respondent is disqualified,” Chief Justice Saqib Nisar said of Tareen.

Tareen, a businessman-turned-politican, said the court had dismissed major allegations levelled against him in the case.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More