7 SPs assume charge after transfer

MIRPUR (AJK) – Seven superintendents of police have assumed the charge after their transfer from different districts of Azad Kashmir, top govt officials said.

In the wake of the transfers of seven SPs of AJK police, posted as police chiefs in various districts besides at other places of national significance, outgoing  Mirpur SSP Raja Irfan Salim has taken the charge in Kotli district.

Irfan Salim has been replaced by SSP Syed Riaz Haider Bukhari who has assumed his duties after taking the charge as the Mirpur district police chief. Bukhari was earlier performing as SP Hattiyan Baala (Jhelum valley district) in Muzaffarabad Division.

Similarly outgoing SSP Kotli Ch Zulqarnain Sarfraz has taken the charge as SP Hattiyan Baala (Jhelum valley district). Additional SP Mirpur Mirza Zahid has taken the charge as SP at Muzaffarabad-based Neelam Jhelum Hydel Power project replacing Muhammad Amin who has taken the charge as SP Neelam valley district.

Similarly, SP Jamil was transferred and posted as SP Bagh District whereas SP Raja Fayaz has been made OSD, the official sources said. The top boss of AJK Police, IGP Shoaib Dastgir had directed all transferred SPs to report at their new respective  places of postings instantly.

The AJK government had, through an official notification, on Thursday, announced the transfer of the seven superintendents of the police. But very next day, it was rumored at massive scale that the transfer orders were withdrawn or cancelled by the government. “The earlier reports sparked on Friday about cancellation of the transfer orders of seven SPs of AJK was merely a rumor,” a senior AJK government source observed.

But independent observers say that it was the recently-inducted IGP of AJK Shoaib Dastgir who stood firmly on his decision of making the transfers of the SPs despite some reservations.




This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More