SALU’s 79th syndicate meeting held

KAHRIPUR –  The 79th meeting of the Syndicate of Shah Abdul Latif University (SALU) was held here on Monday, which was presided over by Professor Dr Parveen Shah, SALU vice chancellor (VC).

Congratulating the newly nominated and elected members of the Syndicate, Professor Dr Parveen Shah said that research had great significance for the socio-economic development of the nation.

She said she was proud that due to tremendous efforts of her learned faculty members, new research projects had been financed by Higher Education Commission, Islamabad and other donor agencies worth Rs13.948 million in the fields of Teacher Education, Zoology, Microbiology and Chemistry.

The VC further said that due to the efforts of Dean Faculty of Arts & Languages, four new research journals had been published in the faculty of Arts & Languages. “The project titled, ‘Strengthening of Academic Facilities (SAF)’ will be completed in September 2018. This project is worth Rs.655.9 million,” she informed.

She said the purpose of international linkages was to promote academic activities as well as research. “The university has recently signed linkages with the University of Maryland USA, University of Queensland, Northwest A&F, University China and University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China,” she told the members,” she added.

Several decisions were taken at the meeting after discussions, including the approval of The Annual Report by the Syndicate. The minutes of the 78th meeting of the Syndicate were also confirmed. Various actions taken by the Vice Chancellor were also approved.

The annual budget of worth Rs1762.138 million with the surplus of Rs5.198 was also approved with some modifications for the main campus as well as Shikarpur Campus. The budget was presented by Altaf Hussain Bhutto, Director Finance.

Professor Dr Ghulam Sarwar Markhand and Professor Dr Mir Munsif Ali Talpur were appointed as Meritorious Professors in BPS-22 on the recommendations of the Special Selection Board.

The Syndicate also approved the affiliation of the Government. Elementary College of Education (Women), Khairpur in ADE (Two-Year Program), Govt. Elementary College of Education (Men), Larkana for BEd (four-year programme), Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Government College of Education, Larkana for BEd (Honors) and Govt. College of Education of Education, Sukkur for B. Ed (Hnos).

The fresh affiliation of Bilawal Bhutto Zardari Law College, Jacobabad, Kambar, Mashal Law College, Daharki, Faiz Muhammad Sahito Law College, Kandiaro was also made for the period of one year.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More