Morris added to South African Test squad

JOHANNESBURG – Fast bowling all-rounder Chris Morris has been added to South Africa’s squad for the first Test against India, starting in Cape Town on January 5. Although the squad is for the first Test only, the South African selectors named 15 players.

They include regular captain Faf du Plessis and fast bowler Dale Steyn, who both missed the two-day rout of Zimbabwe this week because they were not fully fit, and wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, who strained a hamstring while batting against Zimbabwe and was unable to keep wicket.

Morris has recovered from a groin strain and could be competing with Andile Phehlukwayo for an all-rounder’s berth. But if all South Africa’s players are fit, there are several options for the selectors. Du Plessis will come back into the side, which could put Temba Bavuma’s place in doubt unless it is decided to go in with seven batsmen, including De Kock.

Similarly, if Steyn is passed fit after a lengthy recovery from a shoulder injury, one of the bowlers who demolished Zimbabwe will have to make way, unless there is a split of six batsmen and the best five bowlers, with neither Morris nor Phehlukwayo making the starting team.

SQUAD: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock (wkt), AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More