Punjab, Balochistan assemblies to elect Speaker, Dy Speaker today

The Punjab and Balochistan assemblies will elect their respective Speaker and Deputy Speaker today.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) Chief Pervaiz Elahi for the post of Punjab Assembly speaker. He will be contesting against Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PTI) nominee Chaudhry Muhammad Iqbal Gujjar.

For the slot of deputy speaker, PTI has nominated Dost Mazari who will be up against PML-N’s Malik Muhammad Waris Kallu.

Moreover, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) said on Wednesday it will not vote for any party’s candidate and will abstain from the voting process for the post of speaker and deputy speaker.

Meanwhile, in the Balochistan Assembly, Balochistan Awami Party and its allies have nominated Abdul Quddus Bizenjo for the post of speaker while the PTI has nominated Sardar Babar Musa Khel for the position of deputy speaker. 

The opposition has yet to field any candidates for the post of speaker and deputy speaker. It has until 12 noon to submit nomination papers for its candidates.

The Balochistan Assembly session will take place at 3 pm.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More