Two reserved seats of Senate for women left uncontested by PTI, PML(N)

The candidates of PTI and PML-N, on Wednesday returned uncontested on two reserved seats of Senate for women in Punjab.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Saira Afzal Tarar, had withdrawn her nomination papers for the women seat, leaving two candidates for the two reserved seats of women in the assembly hence Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Zarqa Taimoor and Saadia Khaqan Abbasi of the PML-N returned ultimate seat bearers.

Moreover, Barrister Ali Zafar of the PTI and PML-N candidate had also won two special seats for Technocrats from Punjab.

It is pertinent to be stated here, that overall 17 candidates have been in the field for seven general seats of the Senate from Punjab.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) today displayed the revised lists of the candidates for Senate elections.

Overall 170 nomination papers were submitted across the country for the upcoming Senate election.

The investigation of the nomination papers of candidates conducted between 17 to 18 February.

The candidates filed appeals against acceptance or rejection of nomination papers on 20th Feb and the appeals decided until February 23, as per the election schedule while the Senate polls are scheduled to be held on March 3.

The polling of the total 48 Senators is scheduled between 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM at the Provincial as well as National assembly. 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More