T20 World Cup: Australia defeats New Zealand by 8 wickets, bags T20 trophy for 1st time in history

Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets in the Men’s T20 World Cup final on Sunday in Dubai, making it the very first time for their team to lift the T20 World Cup trophy in the history of the tournament. 

Australian batter Mitchell Marsh was declared the Player of the Match for his unbeaten 77. 

Meanwhile, the Player of the Tournament was awarded to Aussie opening batter, David Warner. 

Australia had won the toss and decided to field first.

The two teams had played a match together only once before in the T20 World Cup history when New Zealand defeated Australia by 8 runs in India.

Displaying an impressive start, New Zealand opening batter Martin Guptill struck a four on the very second ball of the first over but lost their first wicket at 28 runs when Daryl Mitchell was sent back to the pavilion by Josh Hazlewood towards the end of the 3rd over.

New Zealand lost their second wicket in the 11th over after opening batter Martin Guptill was dismissed by Adam Zampa’s bowl after scoring 28 runs. By this time, the team had scored 76 runs. 

Meanwhile, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson completed his half-century as the team scored a total of 108 runs in 14 overs. 

By the end of the 16th over, New Zealand had scored 136 runs at the loss of 2 wickets. But in the very next over, Glenn Phillips and Williamson both were sent back to the pavilion by Hazlewood after scoring 18 and 85 runs, respectively.

At the end of the first innings, New Zealand handed over a 173 run target to Australia. 

Aussie opening batters David Warner and skipper Aaron Finch started their team’s innings with a careful start while New Zealand only allowed the team to score one run in the first over. 

By the end of the 4th over, Australia scored 39 runs at the loss of one wicket when skipper Finch was sent packing by Trent Boult. 

Australia’s strong batting put considerable pressure on the Kiwis as the team scored 100 runs in 11 overs while losing only one player.

Boult tried to bring New Zealand back in the game as he bowled the power-hitter of the kangaroos, David Warner. However, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Marsh were quick to take the score to 135 to give control of the game to Australia by the end of the 14th over. 

In the 15th over, Maxwell hit another six, leaving his team needing only 24 runs off 25 balls. 

Being in control of the game, it was easy for the Aussies to chase the target. 

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More