Punjab Assembly adopts bills for 3 new universities

LAHORE – The Punjab Assembly on Monday passed three bills to establish three new universities in the province.

The three universities including Ghazi National Institute of Engineering and Sciences, Dera Ghazi Khan, the Lahore Institute of Science and Technology, and the Grand Asian University, Sialkot will be set up following this legislation.

Earlier, during the question hour, Punjab Minister for Higher Education Yasir Humayun told the House that the government was planning to set up more universities for women. He said that the government would start working on the project as soon as resources are available.

Moved by a PTI lawmaker, the House also adopted a resolution demanding of the federal government to decrease agriculture tax and introduce an amnesty scheme for the purpose. Also, the opposition members raised the issue of shortage of fertilizers in Punjab and grilled the agriculture minister for the government’s failure to ensure prompt supply of fertilizers at the fixed rates. On completion of the agenda, the House was adjourned till Tuesday.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More