Reference seeking disqualification of 26 PTI MPAs sent to ECP

On recommendation of PTI Chairman, PA Speaker writes to ECP


LAHORE   –   On the recommendation of the PTI Chairman Imran Khan, Punjab Assembly Speaker Ch Parvez Elahi Wednesday sent a reference to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) against 26 PTI members of the Punjab Assembly seeking their disqualification on grounds of casting vote in the chief minister’s election against the party discipline.

According to the letter sent to the ECP, the dissident members committed misconduct under Article 63-A of the Constitution as they voted against party discipline and acted against the directions issued by the PTI chairman. The letter also states these members participated in the election of chief minister against the party directions which was evident from the division list for election of the chief minister available with the Assembly secretariat.   The 26 MPAs against whom the reference has been sent to ECP include Raja Sagheer Ahmad, Ghulam Rasool Sangha, Saeed Akbar Niwani, Muhammad Ajmal, Faisal Hayat, Mahar Mohammad Aslam, Mian Khalid Mahmood, Abdul Aleem Khan, Nazir Ahmad Chohan, Amin Zulqarnain, Nauman Langrial, Muhammad Salman, Zawar Hussain, Nazir Ahmad Khan, Fida Hussain, Zahra Batool, Muhammad Tahir, Aisha Nawaz, Sajida Yousaf, Haroon Imran gill, Uzma Kardar, Malik Asad Ali Khokar, Ejaz Masih, Sabtain Raza, Javeed Akhtar and Mohsin Atta Khan Khosa.

These MPAs belong to the Jahangir Khan Tareen and Aleem Khan groups. Under the Constitution, the Election Commission is bound to take a decision about the fate of these MPAs within one month. But an early decision by the ECP will have implications for the no-trust motions against the speaker and the deputy speaker. If these 26 MPAs are de-seated before voting on the no-trust motion, the PA speaker stands a good chance of defeating the motion. The speaker has not yet specified any date for voting despite a seven- day period after which the voting must take place.    Also, in a statement, Speaker Punjab Assembly Ch Parvez Elahi said that PTI leadership had taken a bold step for cleaning the politics of turncoats. He said that an early decision against the defected MPAs will discourage vested interests and “lotacracy” in politics. He urged that the references against dissident MPAS should be brought to the logical conclusion.  Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) senior leader Muhammad Basharat Raja has said that the reference sent to the Election Commission for disqualification against deviant members would be taken to its logical conclusion.

Former Law Minister, Mohammad Basharat Raja said that the deviant members violated Article 63-A by voting for Hamza Shehbaz and now the references will be effectively followed in the Election Commission for speedy decision.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More