First phase of Sindh LG polls to be held on 26th

KARACHI – All is set for local bodies elections scheduled to be held on Sunday in fourteen districts of four divisions of Sindh province in the first phase. At least 21,298 candidates are in field for 6,277 seats of 101 town committees, 23 municipal committees, 14 districts councils, four municipal corporations, eleven town municipal corporations and 887 union councils and Union committees. In the first phase elections will be held in Ghotki, Sukkur, Khairpur, Larkana, Qambar-Shahdadkot, kashmore-kandhkot, Shikarpur, Jackobabad, Naushahroferoze, Shaheed Benaziarabad, Sanghar, Mirpurkhas, Umarkot and Tharparkar districts While in the second phase elections will be held in sixteen districts of Karachi and Hyderabad divisions on 24th of next month. The election commission has established 9,222 polling stations with 29, 977 polling booths to facilitate the voters. Also, at least 1,985 polling stations are declared very sensitive and 3,448 as sensitive. According to officials, at least 11643,582 voters including 6331,383 male and 5312,199 female voters will use their right to franchise to elect the representatives of their choice in the first phase.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More