OUR STAFF REPORTER LAHORE - Wapda retained first position in the 43rd National Athletics Championship on the final day here at the Punjab Stadium on Wednesday. Wapda got 13 gold, 14 silver and six bronze medals with 395 points to lead the points table. Army earned the second place with seven gold, six silver and five bronze with 225 points while PAF on third place with 71 points clinching two gold, two silver and two bronze. Azhar Abbas of Wapda took gold medal in hammer throw by pitching 63 metres. Ghulam Shabbir and M Shakeel of Army secured second and third position respectively by throwing 57.31m and 56.43m respectively. Habibullah of Wapda and Bashir of PAF grabbed fourth and fifth position. In women discipline, Razia Sultana of Wapda snatched first position in hammer throw as she threw 38.83m while Mehwish of Police, Naziz Kausar of Wapda, Abida Changezi of Railways took second, third and fourth spot respectively. In 110m hurdles (men), M Sajjad of PAF got first position by completing the distance in 13.9 seconds. Mohsin Ali of PAF completed the distance in 14.10 sec and M Ramzan of Army completed in 14.8 sec and took second and third place respectively. In pole vault (men), Adnan Anjum of Army took first, M Jaffar of Army secured second and M Ismail of Wapda grabbed third position. Rabia Ashiq of Wapda secured first position in 1500m (women) by completing the total distance in four minutes and 56.4 seconds. Kiran Rana of Wapda and Samabia Noreen of Punjab got second and third place. In discus throw (men), Basharat Ali and M Shamshad of Army got first and second place respectively while Faisal Hassan of Wapda clinch third position. M Arshad of Army snatched first in 10000m (men) by finishing the distance in 33 minutes and 10.7 seconds, Naseeb Ahmed of Wapda and Nouman Akhtar of Army were on second and third spots respectively. Wapda bagged first and second position in 800m (men) by Ali M and Farhan Ahmed while Ghulam Mustafa of PAF took third place. Liaqat Ali of Army got first place in 200m race by finishing the distance in 20.9 seconds, M Rashid of Wapda took second and Ali Amir of Wapda sealed third place.