LAHORE - The 27th National Junior Hockey Championship will roll into action here at the National Hockey Stadium from today (Thursday). Addressing a press conference, Punjab Hockey Association secretary Rana Mujahid said that 18 teams are participating in a week long activity that will be played at both the pitches of the stadium. NWFP Whites will take on Northern Area in the opening match of 27th Under-20 Championship, the final of which will be played on August 29. Former Olympian Mujahid, who is secretary Punjab Hockey Association and also the organising secretary of the tournament along with Zahir Shah, Secretary NWFP Hockey Association and Tournament Director said that the competition would give an impetus to lift the standard of hockey which has fallen so low during the last couple of years. He said that strict action would be taken against those teams and officials who would induct overage players and for this reason an 'Age Credential Check Committee' has been formed. Rana Mujahid also said former Olympic hockey captain and PHF Secretary General Brig (retd) M.H Atif would inaugurate the championship. Eighteen teams will take part in the championship which had been divided into four pools. POOL A: PIA, KESC, Balochistan (c), NWFP (W) Northern Area. POOL B: Army, Railway, NWFP (c) Sindh (W), Balochistan (W) POOL C: Pak Steel, Punjab (W), Police, Islamabad POOL D: NBP, Navy, Sindh (c), Punjab (c). Matches for 21st August  (Thursday) NWFP (W) V Northern Area  Pool A 08.00 am  (pitch 1) Railway  V  Balochistan (W) pool B 08.00 am (pitch 2) Punjab (W)  V Islamabad Pool C  10.00 am  (pitch 2) Sindh  (c) V  Punjab  (c) Pool D 10.00 am  (pitch 1) Police  V Pak Steel  Pool C  03.30 pm  (pitch 1) NWFP (c) Sindh (W)  Pool B  03.30 pm  (Pitch 2) NBP V Navy   Pool D   05.30 pm ( Pitch 2) PIA  V KESC   Pool A   05.30 pm  (Pitch 1) Panel of Technical Officials Tournament Director; Muhammad Zahir Shah (Peshawar) Coordinator:   Jalil Ahmed Chohan (SBP) Tournament Officers: Chaudhary Ansar Jaura (Punjab), Zahid Iqbal (sargodha), Muhammad Shafique Bhatti (Lahore). Organising Secretary: Rana Mujahid Ali Judges to be appointed locally Umpires Manager: Rashad Mahmood Butt  (Railways), Asstt. Umpires Manager: Rana Khalid Iqbal (Faisalabad), Umpires: Zulfiqar Hussain (Sukkur), Mushtaq Ahmed (WAPDA), Rana Muhammad Liaqat (AG Punjab), Mubarik Ali (Gujranwala), Muhammad Anwaar (Army), Muhammad Asif Junior (Kohat), Sajid Rana (Punjab), Tahir Mehmood (Punjab), Chauhdary Munawwar Hussain (PTCL), Naveed Ahmed (Faisalabad). Age Credential Check Committee: Rana Mujahid Ali, Kamran Ashraf, Muhammad Akhlaq, K. M.Junaid, Jehangir Ahmed Butt. Khanewal: All Pakistan boxing tournament will be held from August 22 to August 24, under the supervise of sports department district government Khanewal in chak no 23/10R Khanewal. According to Syad Manzar Abbas Shah district sports officer Khanewal all the arrangement in this regards are finalized, he further added that this competition will be held in eleven different body weight boxers. According to international boxing rules there weighs are 48,51,54,57,60,64,69.75,81 and 93. gold, silver and Bronze medals will be awarded to the first, second, third position holders. In this national tournament teams of WAPDA, Army, Navy, Air Force, KPT(Karachi), KESE(Karachi), Railway Sindh, Baluchistan, Frontier, Punjab Green and Punjab white are participating. Pakistan Boxing Federation has appointed a 15 member of international level team of referees and judges to supervise this mega event.