The electioneering for by-election to Punjab Assembly seat PP-217 Khanewal-IV, scheduled to be held on Thursday (tomorrow), is in full swing.

Earlier in May 11 general election, polling on this seat was postponed due to the sudden death of independent candidate Abdul Sattar. The constituency falls in NA-158 and consists of urban area of Mian Channu.

It is to recall that when polling was postponed due to the death of a candidate, a total of 35 nominations were filed out of which 14 applications were withdrawn later and 21 candidates were in the run.

 The name of candidates and symbols allotted to them where: Muhammad Imran (Kite), Babar Hussain Abid (Tiger), Altaf Hussain (Bucket), Qari Muhammad Safdar (Book), Muhammad Irfan (Pitcher), Muhammad Yasir Arafat (Water Melon), Deceased Abdul Sattar (Corn), Ahmer Hussain Cheema (Arrow), Muhammad Nadeem Akhtar (Tooth Brush), Amir Hussain (Wrench), Jamshed Shoukat (Iron), Maqsood Alam (Bat), Nasir Razzaq (Missile), Muhammad Shabir Mirza (Cow), Muhammad Yousaf Sheikh (Bus), Sher Muhammad Gill (Still Camera), Khalil Ahmed (Inkpot with Pen), Raza Ullah Rehmani (Scale), Muhammad Qaiser Sultan Bazmi (Hukkah), Ghazanfar Ghaffor (Safty Halmet) and Mehr Muhammad Ejaz Hiraj (Eagle). Now three more candidates have filed their nominations and election symbols are allotted, these candidates are Muhammad Shafi Fauji (Comb), Muhammad Saleem Ullah Kalachi (Stag) and Ashiq Hussain (Basket).

According to returning officer of PP-217, now 23 candidates are in the competition.

According to political sources, the main contest is between PML-N Babar Hussain Abid, PPP’s Ahmer Hussain Cheema (Arrow), and PTI’s Maqsood Alam.

However, the PML-N candidate has an edge over his rivals as he had been winner from the constituency in 2008 general elections.

In PP-217, a total of 137 polling stations will be established for 188,776 voters.

The total number of registered voters in PP-217 Khanewal-VI is 188,776 of which 105,313 are female. Turnout in the previous two general elections were, in 2002 election it was 52% and in 2008 elections for national assembly 60 % and for provincial assembly 59.30%.